of the IRCM

Governance Committee

Michel Décary

Chair of the IRCM Governance Committee, member of the IRCM Executive Committee, Consulting partner, BCF law firm

Michel Décary’s experience as a pleader has run the gamut of Canadian courts at all levels up to and including the Supreme Court of Canada, as well as provincial and federal administrative tribunals and domestic arbitration tribunals, in matters regarding corporate, commercial and securities law. He has either acted as counsel or represented witnesses before several public inquiries such as Cliche, Malouf, Gomery and Johnson.

Throughout his career, Mr. Décary has been a Board member for various companies and organizations. Today, he is a member of the Board for National Public Relations and the Montreal Council on Foreign Relations. 

He is a member of the IRCM Board of Directors since 2014. He chairs the Governance Committee and is a member of the Executive Committee.

Brian Z. Gelfand

Financial Market Professional

Brian Z. Gelfand is a senior executive in the derivatives exchange sector with leadership experience in all aspects of options and futures markets. He held several positions including Chief Commercial Officer at the Canadien Depository for Securities.

He is a member of the Bars of Quebec, New York and Massachusetts. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics, a Bachelor of Civil Law and a Bachelor of Common Law from McGill University, as well as an M.A. in international relations from the John Hopkins University. He is an active member of several professional and community organizations, including the Toronto Centre’s Securities Program Advisory Board, AIMA Canada’s Education and Research Committee, and the Roaster’s Foundation. 

Mr. Gelfand has been a member of the IRCM Board of Directors since June 2012 and is a member of the Governance Committee.

Michel Lespérance

Member of the IRCM Governance Committee, Member of the Executive Committee, Corporate Director

Lawyer and member of the Québec Bar since 1967, Michel Lespérance pursued his career at the Université de Montréal, where he was assistant Secretary-General, assistant to the Vice-Rector of administration, and Secretary-General of the university. He retired in 2005 and was appointed Secretary-General Emeritus of the Université in April 2008.

Throughout his career, Mr. Lespérance served on the several Boards of Directors, including that of the École Polytechnique de Montréal, the CÉGEP de Saint-Laurent and the Caisse populaire Côte-des-Neiges. He is Secretary of the Advisory Board for the Autorité des marches financiers and has been a member of several associations, such as the National Association of College and University Attorneys and the Groupement international des secrétaires généraux des universités francophones.

Mr. Lespérance has been a member of the IRCM Board of Directors since June 2011. He is also a member of the Human Ressources Committee, the Executive Committee and the Governance Committee.

Richard Mayrand

Vice-Chair of the IRCM Board, President of the IRCM Scientific Committee, Corporate Director

Richard Mayrand, MBA, FCPA, FCGA, worked for the Jean Coutu Group from 1996 to 2019 as Senior Vice President, Pharmacy and Government Affairs. His mandate was to ensure the Jean Coutu network's leadership in pharmaceutical services. 
Mr. Mayrand is a member of the Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec. He is also a member of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés and a member of the Ordre des administrateurs agréés. He has been awarded the title of Fellow by all three professional orders. He holds an MBA from McGill University.

He is an ASC graduate of the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés and has chaired the Board of Directors of the Association des bannières et des chaînes de pharmacies du Québec and served on the Board of Directors of the Société de soins palliatifs à domicile du Grand Montréal. Richard Mayrand has been teaching the human resources management module at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the Université de Montréal since 1996. In 2011, the Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec honoured him with the prestigious Louis-Hébert Award, the Order's highest distinction in recognition of his contribution to the advancement of the pharmacy profession.

Mr. Mayrand is Vice-Chair of the IRCM Board of Directors and President-Elect. He is also Chair of the Scientific Committee and a member of the Governance Committee. He will take up his position as Chair in mid-June.


events and more


IRCM Foundation

Be part of the

Support health research